Jordan Bowling takes out the North West Thunder’s MVP award

With a number of players in contention, Bowling took out the award on 45 votes, just one clear of fellow import Nick Banyard on 44 votes, with point guard Lachlan Dent third on 33 votes.

Dent made a huge impact in the opening third of the NBL1 season, racing out out to a seven vote lead over Banyard, but was hauled back through the middle of the season by Bowling and Paul Campbell, who eventually finished fourth on 31 votes.

After missing three games through injury, Banyard stormed home in the final rounds but it wasn’t enough as Bowling also played some of his best basketball to continually attract votes.

Bowling finished the season with averages of 15.9 points, 7 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 1.5 steals per game.

Despite only playing 12 of the 20 games due to US college commitments, Tre Armstrong still finished equal fifth with captain Joe Chilcott on 27 votes, while Kai Woodfall made an impression in his eight games to come in seventh place.

Australian under 17 team member Reyne Smith was rewarded for his talents with the rising star award, Dent took out the coaches award, and Campbell received the physio’s award for demanding excellence.

MVP LEADERBOARD: Jordan Bowling 45, Nick Banyard 44, Lachlan Dent 33, Paul Campbell 31, Tre Armstrong 27, Joe Chilcott 27, Kai Woodfall 19, Joel Beveridge 9, Reyne Smith 4, Kobe Jackson 1.