Coastal impact in NBL1 All-Stars team

The representative team was announced on Wednesday, with North-West Thunder’s Reyne Smith and former Thunder and Sydney Kings development player Lachie Barker included.

Zac White, who played NBL1 with the now defunct Hobart Huskies and is a teammate of Smith’s at Penguin in the NWBU has also been named, with Thunder coach Sam Armstrong to be an assistant to Mark Chivers, who guided the Huskies in the NBL1 this year.

The All-Stars will play Brisbane Bullets at Ulverstone Sports and Recreation Centre on Thursday, September 19, at 6pm, and the Cairns Taipans at Launceston’s Silverdome on Saturday, September 21.

“The NBL1 All-Stars Team for the NBL Blitz gives Tasmanians a great opportunity to see NBL stars up close and enjoy world class basketball,” Chivers said on Wednesday.

“Tasmanians will also have a chance to see some of their best local young players and I’m sure all the players selected for the NBL1 All-Stars will be keen to showcase their talents against the Brisbane Bullets and Cairns Taipans.

“We hope everyone in Tasmania will get behind the Blitz and support the push for Tasmania’s own team in the NBL.”

Other Coastal NBL Blitz fixtures will see Cairns take on Adelaide at 8pm at Ulverstone on September 19 and South East Melbourne battle Sydney on September 20 in Devonport.

NBL1 All-Stars Team

Reyne Smith – North West Thunder
Zachary White – Hobart Huskies
Lachlan Barker – Frankston Blues
Adam Doyle – Eltham Wildcats
Dain Swetalla – Nunawading Spectres
Damon Bozeman – Frankston Blues
Demarcus Gatlin – Geelong Supercats
Deonte Burton – Bendigo Braves
Igor Hadziomerovic – Frankston Blues
Isaac Turner – Kilsyth Cobras
Lewis Thomas – Geelong Supercats
Najeal Young – Frankston Blues

NBL1 All-Stars Team Coaches

Head Coach – Mark Chivers (Hobart Huskies)
Assistant Coaches – Sam Armstrong (North West Thunder), Andrew Harms (Frankston Blues)

Tickets for games at the NBL Blitz range from $5 for children, $7.50 for adults and $20 for families.

People can register at to receive priority access when tickets go on Thursday.